Upcoming Events

Schedule TBA

Race Stats

  • Races15
  • Wins3
  • Top 59
  • Top 1013
212 Bar
Action Auto
Custom Drywall
Dakota Supply Group
Life Force
Midwest Excavating
Parker Engines
Sioux Empire Cleaning
Vance Trucking


Mark Dobmeier Beefs Up at Knoxville Raceway!

Mark Dobmeier Beefs Up at Knoxville Raceway!

Mark Dobmeier will be taking the beef back to Grand Forks, North Dakota after conquering South Central Co-op Night at Knoxville Raceway and the Marion County Fair Saturday. In addition to the $4,000 winner’s share, the driver of the Jimco Racing/Polaris #13 took home a half a beef as well for his 14th career victory here. Clint Garner won an exciting 360 feature that saw four lead changes, while sixteen-year-old Kelby Watt led the distance to score his first career win with the 305 class. Brad Moyer won a special DTRA Dirt Truck main event.

The 20-lap 410 feature got off to a rocky start to say the least. After a false start, Sawyer Phillips spun in turn four on the next try. The third try was not a charm, as Austin McCarl flipped wildly in turn one. Newcomer Jason Kendrick also flipped against the wall in turn one. Both were unhurt.

Terry McCarl had gotten the jump on the first few tries, but Mark Dobmeier would sail out to the lead once it counted ahead of Terry, Lynton Jeffrey, Danny Lasoski and Dustin Selvage. Lasoski would move into third by lap four, and with six laps in, Justin Henderson spun in turn four while running sixth.

Dobmeier pulled away on that restart as well, riding the cushion. Behind him, McCarl and Lasoski went at it like they have over the last four decades for the runner-up spot. One last caution for a spun Sawyer Phillips slowed things one more time, but Dobmeier would pull away and had no peer here tonight.

Terry McCarl was second at the line, ahead of Lasoski, Tim Kaeding and Selvage. Dakota Hendrickson made a last lap pass for sixth, followed by Matt Juhl, Josh Schneiderman, Scott Bogucki and hard-charger Tasker Phillips. Jeffrey crossed the line fourth, but was disqualified for pulling toward his pit stall, and his crew touching the car before going to the scales. Dobmeier set quick time, while Brooke Tatnell, who won his heat, but lost a motor in the process. Schneiderman and Rager Phillips were other heat winners. The three Phillips brothers made a bit of history, as they were the first trio of brothers to compete here in the 410 class since Bob, Mike and Denny Houseman in the 1983 Knoxville Nationals.

“Perfect!” said Dobmeier in Victory Lane next to his prize steer. “We like steak! I appreciated the number of restarts we had. Terry McCarl is the king of restarts when you’re starting side by side. He got me the first couple of times, but it was nice to get an opportunity to get him back. Our crew has been working hard all year long. We’ve had a strong car wherever we’ve gone…short tracks or big tracks. We’re just finally getting some wins to prove it.”

Calvin Landis shot out to an early lead in the 18-lap 360 feature, ahead of Tyler Groenendyk and Clint Garner. Groenendyk would slide in front of Landis to lead lap two, while point leader, Matt Moro snuck into fourth. By lap three, Jamie Ball had entered the top five as well.

As the leaders got into traffic, Groenendyk hesitated on the low side of three, allowing Landis back by on lap seven. The following two laps, a blanket could have been thrown over the top three, as Garner moved into second in heavy lapped traffic. Meanwhile, Ball and Moro were battling for the fourth spot.

Garner reeled in Landis in lapped traffic, reminiscent of their tangle a week ago that took them both out. This time, Garner was able to slide across turn three and take the point on lap 12. Four laps later, Ball moved by Landis in turn two for second. The only caution of the event came with two laps to go, when Devin Kline went up in smoke. Joe Beaver and Sawyer Phillips also piled their mounts together in turn two. No one was hurt.

Garner pulled away from Ball on the restart to win his 32nd career 360 feature here. Ryan Giles, Moro and Landis followed them. Tim Kaeding, Nate Van Haaften, Groenendyk, hard-charger Jason Martin and Chris Martin rounded out the top ten. Moro set quick time, while Landis, Giles and Ball won the heats. Chris Morgan claimed the B.

“We had a long week at the shop,” said Garner, who got upside down with Landis a week ago. “I didn’t spend enough time last winter getting prepared. I’ve got great people behind me. It’s just about putting the time in when it’s cold. To get results like that with a car that we hadn’t been in, and our second engine was really good. I can’t say enough about my guys. We all worked our butts off.”

The 15-lap 305 feature got off to an ugly start. Brandon Worthington spun, collecting Corey Kautz, while Christopher Scank flipped in turn two. No one was injured. Young Kelby Watt was steady from the front row and found the bottom groove to his liking in route to his first career sprint car win. Once back green, the race went non-stop.

The best battles on the track came from point leader Eric Bridger, who moved up to third by lap three, but was challenged and passed with two to go by Kade Higday. Tyler Glass tucked in behind Watt and followed him all the way to the checkers, ahead of Higday, Bridger and Ryan Leavitt. Chris Walraven, Rob Kubli, Evan Epperson, Matthew Stelzer and Chase Rudolf completed the top ten. Bridger set down quick time and won his heat. Chris Horton took the second heat.

“It was a fun race,” said the youngster in Victory Lane. “This is my first season. I’m only sixteen years old. I’m proud of my crew. We work hard on this car every day. I’m just so happy that we could make it here. I can’t thank my sponsors enough.”

Brad Moyer passed Tony Moro on lap two and led the rest of the 12-lap distance to claim the DTRA Dirt Truck feature. It was Moyer’s first win at Knoxville. Bret Moyer was second, followed by Eric Lundstrom, Tony Moro and Lou Sipolt.

Marion County Fair activities continue this week with tomorrow’s Outlaw Caged Kart racing here, as well as the Dynamic Drivelines Dirt Duel for IMCA Hawkeye Dirt Tour Modifieds and Sport Mods Thursday, July 20. Next Saturday night, July 22 is 3M Night! All three sprint car classes will again be in action! For more information, visit www.KnoxvilleRaceway.com!